Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Conflict of Laws: Private Intl Law

This research guide covers choice of law resources (online and print), plus private international law and Lynn Wardle articles.

Private International Law (International Conflict of Laws)

Definitions

Private International Law: "International conflict of laws. Legal scholars frequently lament the name 'private international law' because it misleadingly suggests a body of law somehow parallel to public international law, when in fact it is merely a part of each legal system's private law. -- Also termed international private law; jus gentium privatum; intermunicipal law; comity; extraterritorial recognition of rights." Black's Law Dictionary, 10th ed., page 941 [under entry for "International law"]

 

Print Books on Private International Law

Other Resources

Articles

Journal of Private International Law (Hart Pub., 2005- ), [HeinOnline: vol.1-3 (2005-2007); http://www.hartjournals.co.uk/jprivintl [Law Library does not have online subscription to current issues vol.4-9 (2008-2013)]

Symeon C. Symeonides, American Federalism and Private International Law, 63 Hellenic Review of International Law 537-580 (2010), [HeinOnline]; [SSRN], http://ssrn.com/abstract=1612949 (written for non-USA readers, explaining and comparing current U.S. and European approaches to private international law)

Bibliographies

1.    Symeon C. Symeonides, Private International Law Bibliography 2013: U.S. and Foreign Sources in English, 62 American Journal of Comparative Law  (2014) [SSRN] http://ssrn.com/abstract=2395725 Periodicals K 1 .M442 V.62 (check availability)

2.    Symeon C. Symeonides, Private International Law Bibliography 2012: U.S. and Foreign Sources in English, 61 American Journal of Comparative Law  (2013) [SSRN] http://ssrn.com/abstract=2204138 Periodicals K 1 .M442 V.61 (check availability)

3.    Symeon C. Symeonides, Private International Law Bibliography 2011: U.S. and Foreign Sources in English, 60 American Journal of Comparative Law 369-381 (2012) [HeinOnline], Periodicals K 1 .M442 V.60 (check availability)

4.    Symeon C. Symeonides, Private International Law Bibliography 2009-10: U.S. and Foreign Sources in English, 59 American Journal of Comparative Law 395-410 (2011) [HeinOnline], Periodicals K 1 .M442 V.59 (check availability)

5.    Symeon C. Symeonides, Private International Law Bibliography 2008-09: U.S. and Foreign Sources in English, 58 American Journal of Comparative Law 307-317 (2010) [HeinOnline], Periodicals K 1 .M442 V.58 (check availability)

6.    Symeon C. Symeonides, Private International Law Bibliography 2007-08: U.S. and Foreign Sources in English, 57 American Journal of Comparative Law 331-346 (2009) [HeinOnline]; [SSRN] http://ssrn.com/abstract=1317925

7.    Richard Frimpong Oppong, Private International Law Scholarship in Africa (1884-2009): A Selected Bibliography, 58 American Journal of Comparative Law 319-342 (2010) [HeinOnline], Periodicals K 1 .M442 V.58. (check availability)

Websites

Conflict of Laws .net: News and Views in Private International Law  www.conflictoflaws.net

U.S. State Department, Private International Law  http://www.state.gov/s/l/c3452.htm

Hague Convention on Private International Law  http://www.hcch.net/index_en.php?act=home.splash

Subject Guide

BRIGHAM YOUNG UNIVERSITY

© 2012-2017+. All rights reserved. | Provo, UT 84602 | 801-422-3593