Skip to main content

Free and Low-Cost Legal Resources in Utah

Aging and Adult Protective Services

  • 1-800-371-7897
  • This hotline provides support and investigates reports of abuse, neglect, and exploitation of vulnerable adults (such as the elderly or mentally handicapped.)

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) of Utah

  • 355 N. 300 W., Salt Lake City
  • 801-521-9862
  • The ACLU of Utah accepts civil liberty complaints and requests for assistance. However, they do not accept walk-in appointments or answer legal questions over the phone. You may call them and request an information packet that includes a form to fill out for the ACLU of Utah to review your issue, or you can visit the website listed to fill out the form online. Because the ACLU's process, which process determines if they can assist you, will likely take six weeks or more, the ACLU recommends that you contact an attorney or other legal service for more pressing matters or emergency situations. The ACLU has collected a list of free or low-cost legal resources from across the state of Utah, so if traveling to Utah County or Salt Lake County is difficult for you, try looking at the ACLU's list on their website (available here). The list includes resources in the following Utah areas: Brigham City, Cedar City, Ephraim, Farmington, Fillmore, Layton, Kaysville, Logan, Manti, Moab, Nephi, Ogden, Park City, Price, Provo, Richfield, Roosevelt, St. George, Salt Lake City, Tooele, Vernal, Utah County and West Jordan. 

American Indian Free Legal Clinic

  • Urban Indian Walk-In Center, 120 W. 1300 S., Salt Lake City 
  • 801-486-4877
  • probono@law.utah.edu
  • Sponsored by the S.J. Quinney College of Law at the University of Utah, Utah Legal Services, and the Disability Law Center, this clinic is run on an as-needed basis, which means the clinic does not have regularly-scheduled meeting times. (It is also held in conjunction with large events at the Urban Indian Walk-In Center. The dates of those events will be posted on the website above.) This clinic deals with the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA), tribal land issues, family claim issues, etc. You may send an email to request a meeting with an attorney if there are no upcoming dates for legal services, but you are not guaranteed a meeting. You must be of American Indian descent to use these services. Legal volunteers at the clinic provide advice; however they do not provide legal representation. (The volunteer attorneys will not file anything with the court for you or appear in court on your behalf.) Interviews last anywhere from 3060 minutes, depending on the issue. The clinic targets low-income individuals, but there is no income requirement.

Attorney Websites

  • Attorneys sometimes provide free consultations and/or free legal representation according to their schedules and commitments. As a last resort, you could try contacting local attorneys directly through the information on their websites to see if they would be willing to take on a "pro bono" client (meaning, a client that the attorney does not charge). Also, some attorneys have contracts, called contingency fee contracts, that essentially state that the client owes the attorney nothing unless the client wins his/her case. If the client wins, then the attorney takes a portion of the amount awarded. These types of contracts are almost exclusively only available in personal injury or defective product cases.

BYU Center for Conflict Resolution

  • Brigham Young University, 4412 WSC, Provo
  • 801-422-5068 (no voicemail option)
  • ccr@byu.edu
  • This center provides conflict resolution for any issue if you are a BYU student. If you are not a BYU student, then you may only use these services if you live in BYU-approved housing and your issue involves a landlord-tenant dispute. The center is open from 10:00am–2:00pm Monday through Thursday, but closed Tuesdays from 10:45–12:15 for BYU devotionals. The center has a variety of resources to assist BYU students stuck in conflict, including information about consultations, mediation, arbitration, and recommended reading. For anyone living in BYU-approved housing, any landlord-tenant disputes must be resolved through the center's mediation and/or arbitration programs.

BYU Community Legal Clinic

  • Deseret Industries, Employment Resource Center, 702 W. Columbia Lane, Provo, Utah
  • communitylegalclinic@law.byu.edu
  • 801-297-7049
  • The BYU Community Legal Clinic is run by law professors and law students at BYU Law School. It is held from 5:00pm–7:00pm on Thursdays. It is anticipated that the Clinic will continue to be held on Thursdays at that time even in the summer. Walk-ins are welcome, but it is recommended that individuals call and make an appointment. The number listed above is for the Utah Bar, an organization that manages the BYU Community Legal Clinic appointments. Generally, you may call the number anytime during normal business hours (9:00am–5:00pm) to talk to a Utah Bar staff member to schedule an appointment with the Clinic. The Clinic mainly helps with immigration issues, but is willing to hear about any legal issue and may refer people to other organizations or attorneys if the Clinic cannot help. Family law matters will always be referred to Timpanogos Legal Center. The Clinic will only help those who are considered to have low or modest means. The Clinic is closed on holidays and during BYU Law School student breaks. Contact communitylegalclinic@law.byu.edu or check the Facebook page "BYU Community Legal Clinic" for inquiries regarding a specific date.

BYU Law Mediation Clinic

  • BYU Law School
  • 801-369-0320 (Professor LeeAnn Glade)
  • This clinic deals primarily with general conflict resolution, but it also handles small claims and other issues. The Small Claims Mediation is a subset of this clinic. They accept all requests, except the occasional few that are too complex. Call Professor LeeAnn Glade, and she will give your name and phone number to a student who will then contact you to set up a time. The mediations usually take place at BYU Law School. For claims that have already been filed, the clinic also handles mediations in most courts in Utah County, Wasatch County, and a couple of courts in Salt Lake County. 

Catholic Community Services Immigration Program

  • 745 E. 300 S., Salt Lake City
  • 801-977-9119 (then dial "3")
  • Consultations by appointment Monday through Friday; walk-ins are available on Wednesdays. Call between 8:30am–5:00pm to schedule an appointment. (The office is closed from 12:00pm–1:00pm.) Legal staff are available to help answer questions and assist in the following areas: filing for permanent residence, U.S. citizenship, and family petition visas, or applications for renewal of identity documents. They can also assist with refugees or immigrants in deportation proceedings.
  • Languages: Arabic, Burmese, English, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, Bhutanese, Dzongkha.

Centro Hispano/Community Law Help for Immigrants

  • 817 South Freedom Blvd., Provo
  • 801-655-0258
  • Centro Hispano's mission is to help empower Hispanics to have equal access to the information and resources they need in order to strengthen individuals, families, and communities through education and skill-building activities.
  • Central Hispano provides bilingual services to Hispanic community members. We offer services such as walk-in consultations for information and referrals, free adult education classes, legal assessments, low-income tax payer assistance, and health promotion and wellness activities.  
  • They also may have a representative who is at the Utah County Family Justice Center on Tuesday nights. It is recommended that you see the representative at the Utah County Family Justice Center, rather than at the Centro Hispano building if you require legal assistance.

Community Legal Clinic: Ogden

  • LDS Employment Center, 435 N. Wall Avenue, Suite B, Harrisville, UT 84404 
  • This clinic is held the 2nd Thursday of every month, except holidays, from 5:00pm–6:30pm. No appointment is necessary. The clinic deals with questions related to immigration, such as citizenship, status, deportation, visas, and family law. Legal volunteers at the clinic provide advice; however they do not provide legal representation. (The volunteer attorneys will not file anything with the court for you or appear in court on your behalf.) Interviews last anywhere from 30–60 minutes, depending on the issue. The clinic targets low-income individuals, but there is no income requirement.

Community Legal Clinic: Salt Lake (formerly the Immigration Clinic)

  • LDS Employment Center, 780 W. 800 S., Salt Lake City
  • Sponsored by the S.J. Quinney College of Law at the University of Utah, this clinic is held on the 1st Tuesday of every month from 5:00pm–6:30pm. No appointment is necessary. The clinic answers questions related to immigration, family law, and general legal issues. Legal volunteers at the clinic provide advice; however they do not provide legal representation. (The volunteer attorneys will not file anything with the court for you or appear in court on your behalf.) Interviews last anywhere from 30–60 minutes depending on the issue. The clinic targets low-income individuals, but there is no income requirement. 

Community Legal Clinic: Sugarhouse

  • Deseret Industries Building, 2140 S. 800 E., Salt Lake City
  • This clinic is held the 3rd Thursday of every month, except holidays, from 5:00pm–6:30pm. No appointment is necessary. The clinic deals with questions related to immigration, such as citizenship, status, deportation, visas, and family law. Legal volunteers at the clinic provide advice; however they do not provide legal representation. (The volunteer attorneys will not file anything with the court for you or appear in court on your behalf.) Interviews last anywhere from 30–60 minutes, depending on the issue. The clinic targets low-income individuals, but there is no income requirement.

Crime Victims Legal Clinic

  • 3335 S. 900 E., Suite 200, Salt Lake City
  • 801-746-1204
  • This clinic provides free legal representation for crime victims whose rights are at stake.

Debtor's Counseling Legal Clinic

  • Horizonte School, in the cafeteria, 1234 South Main Street, Salt Lake City
  • Sponsored by the S.J. Quinney College of Law at University of Utah and by the Utah State Bar, this clinic is held the 3rd Tuesday of each month from 5:00pm–6:30pm. No appointment is necessary. The clinic answers questions related to bankruptcy, collection defense, and credit issues. Legal volunteers at the clinic provide advice; however they do not provide legal representation. (The volunteer attorneys will not file anything with the court for you or appear in court on your behalf.) Interviews last anywhere from 30–60 minutes depending on the issue. The clinic targets low-income individuals, but there is no income requirement. 

Disability Law Center

  • 205 N. 400 W., Salt Lake City 
  • 1-800-662-9080
  • Calls Accepted: Monday through Friday 9:00am–4:00pm. The Center no longer accepts walk-ins.
  • This center provides services to people suffering discrimination due to a disability. Examples of discrimination include the following: abuse, neglect, accessibility, assistive technology, civil rights, community living, education, health care, housing, transportation, and voting rights. "Disability" is broadly defined to include developmental, physical, intellectual, learning, or sensory disabilities, as well as mental illnesses, emotional impairments, traumatic brain injuries, or chronic health conditions.

Elder Law Program

  • Utah Legal Services, 205 N. 400 W., Salt Lake City
  • 801-328-8891
  • This program provides assistance on any topic to seniors ages 60 years or older living in Utah. Call to submit your information. The program will ask for information on your income to see if you qualify for additional legal services, but you are not required to give the information. Intake hours are from 9:00am–2:00pm Monday through Friday. 

Employer Support of The Guard and Reserve (ESGR)

  • ESGR is a Department of Defense unit that promotes employer support for Guard and Reserve service by advocating for relevant initiatives, recognizing outstanding support, increasing awareness of applicable laws, and resolving conflicts between employers and service members. ESGR educates the service members and their civilian employers in regard to their rights and responsibilities governed by USERRA (the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act.
  • 12953 South Minuteman Drive Draper, UT 84020
  • Phone: (801) 432-4492 / (801) 432-4536

Expungement Free Legal Clinic

  • LDS Employment Center, 780 W. 800 S., Salt Lake City
  • Sponsored by the S.J. Quinney College of Law at University of Utah and by Utah Legal Services, this clinic is held the 1st Thursday of every month from 5:00pm–6:00pm. No appointment is necessary, but plan to arrive no later than 6:00pm since the building closes promptly at 7:00pm. The clinic deals with impediments to employment, such as expungements and issues regarding outstanding warrants. Legal volunteers at the clinic provide advice; however they do not provide legal representation. (The volunteer attorneys will not file anything with the court for you or appear in court on your behalf.) Interviews last anywhere from 30–60 minutes depending on the issue. The clinic targets low-income individuals, but there is no income requirement. 

Family Law Free Clinic

  • 450 S. State St., Salt Lake City (in the Matheson Courthouse, Room W-19)
  • Sponsored by the S.J. Quinney College of Law at University of Utah, the Legal Aid Society of Salt Lake City, the University of Utah's Women's Resource Center, and the Family Law Section of the Utah State Bar, this clinic is held the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month from 6:00pm–7:30pm, excluding holidays. The clinic answers questions related to family law, child custody, divorce, and protective orders. Legal volunteers at the clinic provide advice; however they do not provide legal representation. (The volunteer attorneys will not file anything with the court for you or appear in court on your behalf.) Interviews last anywhere from 30–60 minutes, depending on the issue. To qualify for assistance, your income must be at or below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines, available at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines.

Guardianship and Advocacy Providers

  • Cedar Hills, UT
  • 801-785-1629
  • The phone number is a home phone number, so simply explain that you are looking for help with guardianship, and you will be directed to the right person to help you. This person can assist and guide people through the guardianship process and help people look up legal resources. He will also refer people to clinics if they need further help.

Help Me Find a Utah Lawyer (by the Utah State Bar)

  • The "Help Me Find a Lawyer" link walks you through a series of questions to locate potential attorneys in Utah who practice the area of law in which you need assistance. These attorneys, however, will likely require some sort of payment. This link will be more helpful for those persons who need an attorney to represent them and have not found an attorney to do it for free.  

Holy Cross Ministries Legal Immigration Program

  • 860 E. 4500 S., Suite 204, Salt Lake City
  • 801-261-3440
  • Services provided include the following: 
    • consultations;
    • support for immigrant victims of violence;
    • support for humanitarian and temporary status applicants;
    • family reunification assistance; and
    • citizenship services.
  • Holy Cross does not represent people in the services listed above, but rather it gives consultations and starts the process before referring clients to other organizations/attorneys. Also, people who come should already be in the process of removal proceedings. There are no income requirements for consultations, but Holy Cross typically accepts lower income people first. Most clients are below the 200% poverty line, and Holy Cross generally will not take anyone as clients in the 300%–400% poverty line. The poverty guidelines are available at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines. Consultation fees are $50 unless the person was referred to them by a shelter; in that scenario, the fee is reduced to $20. Consultations are by appointment only. Call to schedule an appointment or see their website for a list of times to drop off a completed application. 

International Rescue Committee

  • 221 S. 400 W., Salt Lake City
  • 801-328-1091
  • This committee is comprised of certified immigration specialists who work with the Board of Immigration Appeals. They can help with citizenship, green cards, family petitions, or replacement of lost documents. They cannot help with non-immigrant visas (for example, student visas and employment visas) or deportation proceedings. Consultations are free; call and schedule an appointment or attend Friday walk-in hours from 12:00pm–3:00pm.

Legal Clinic for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing

  • Sanderson Community Center for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, 5709 S. 1500 W., Taylorsville
  • 801-860-4860; 801-657-5200 for the video phone
  • lauriebishop@utah.gov
  • This clinic is held the third Wednesday of every other month from 3:00pm–5:00pm. An appointment is required. Call or schedule via email. During your appointment, you may speak with Utah Legal Services' attorneys on matters concerning employment discrimination, social security, food stamps, Medicaid/Medicare, landlord/tenant issues, discrimination, divorce, and custody. Interpreters will be provided. Clinics are for advice only. If you would like to retain an attorney, call 801-328-8891 or 1-800-622-4245.

Landlord-Tenant Mediation Program

  • Matheson Courthouse, Third District Salt Lake
  • 801-214-3109 (Heather Lester)
  • heather.lester@utahca.org 
  • Mediation services for landlord-tenant legal issues are provided on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays at 1:30pm. Contact Heather Lester by phone (leaving only one message) or by email. This program does not resolve rent disputes or deal with rental assistance.  

Law and Entrepreneurship Clinic

  • BYU Law School
  • startup@law.byu.edu
  • Brigham Young University's Law and Entrepreneurship Clinic, part of the BYU Law School, is a student-based, clinical program aimed to provide innovators and entrepreneurs with legal services. Under the supervision of clinical faculty and staff, law students work together to represent start-up companies, entrepreneurs, and nonprofit organizations. Clients range from brand-new initiatives where students help launch the business from a legal perspective to more established companies with more sophisticated legal needs. For specific types of assistance offered, visit the website. The Clinic accepts applications on an ongoing, rolling basis. However, the Clinic is only staffed and available to assist entrepreneurs from late August through mid-April. During the months that the Clinic is staffed, the client selection process is typically completed within two to three weeks of application receipt. All client selection decisions are subject to the Clinic staffing availability and are solely within the Clinic Director's discretion. To see the client-selection criteria and/or to fill out an application, visit the website.

Legal Aid Society of Salt Lake: Family Law

  • 205 N. 400 W., Salt Lake City
  • 801-328-8849
  • This organization helps with family law cases for persons living in Salt Lake County. Domestic violence victims may receive assistance, regardless of income or citizenship status, by coming in person to any Legal Aid Society of Salt Lake satellite locations. To be eligible for other family law assistance, persons must be at or below 200% of the poverty guidelines (provided on the website and at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines), and fill out the online application. Persons representing themselves in a family law matter can also receive limited legal assistance with the Legal Aid Assisted Pro Se program; this program is free and is faster than applying for full representation with Legal Aid Society.

Legal Clinics, Agencies, and Organizations

  • This website is compiled and maintained by the Utah State Courts to give a list of legal clinics in the following areas: Brigham City, Farmington, Logan, Ogden, Park City, Provo, St. George, Salt Lake City, Salt Lake County, Utah County, Wasatch County, West Jordan, and statewide. The website also has a list of agencies and organizations that offer free or low-cost legal services.

Low Income Taxpayer Clinic

  • S.J. Quinney College of Law at the University of Utah, 383 S. University St., Salt Lake City
  • 801-587-2439
  • utahtaxclinic@law.utah.edu
  • This clinic provides representation in tax disputes with the IRS, as well as education/outreach to groups such as social services, low and moderate income groups, and ESL groups. It serves Salt Lake, Davis, and Weber Counties. Most clients must have an income at or below 250% of the poverty level (which level is listed at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines) and a tax dispute no larger than $50,000 per tax year. The clinic is staffed by law students supervised by Professor Mark H. Howard, an attorney and qualified tax expert. Prospective clients should call or email the clinic and indicate when they would be available for a call-back. This clinic is by appointment only.

Medical-Legal Clinic

  • South Main Health Center, 3690 S. Main St., Salt Lake City
  • 801-587-2525
  • This clinic is held the 1st Wednesday of every month from 4:30pm–5:30pm. The clinic handles landlord-tenant issues related to healthcare and accommodations and other legal-related issues. Legal volunteers at the clinic provide advice; however they do not provide legal representation. (The volunteer attorneys will not file anything with the court for you or appear in court on your behalf.) Call the number above, which is the general number for South Main Clinic, to make an appointment at this legal clinic.

Rainbow Law Free Clinic

  • Utah Pride Center, 1380 S. Main Street, Salt Lake City
  • Sponsored by the S.J. Quinney College of Law at University of Utah, the OUTLaws, and the Pride Center, this clinic is held the 2nd Thursday of every month from 6:00pm–7:30pm. No appointment is necessary. The clinic deals with LGBT issues related to employment, estate planning, family law, etc. Legal volunteers at the clinic provide advice; however they do not provide legal representation. (The volunteer attorneys will not file anything with the court for you or appear in court on your behalf.) Interviews last anywhere from 30–60 minutes depending on the issue. The clinic targets low-income individuals, but there is no income requirement. Parking is limited, so public transportation is encouraged. The Library TRAX station is right in front of the building. 

Senior Center Legal Clinics

  • Utah State Bar's Committee on Law and Aging
  • The Senior Center Legal Clinics provide assistance to seniors ages 60 years or older who live in Salt Lake County. These clinics provide 20 minute consultations with an attorney on any topic and are held at Salt Lake County senior centers. (A list of senior centers is available at http://slco.org/aging-adult-services/senior-centers/.) Appointment required. Call your local Salt Lake County senior center or the Utah State Bar at 801-297-7049 or the Salt Lake County Aging Services office at 385-468-3200.

Small Claims Mediation

  • 801-369-0320
  • This clinic provides in-court mediation services for individuals involved in small claims disputes. It is a subset of the BYU Law Mediation Clinic. Call for more information.  

SoloSuit

  • 480-297-1210
  • contact@solosuit.com
  • This is a free legal resource that is only available online. The automated software, similar to Turbo Tax, will help you safely and accurately prepare your response to being sued for a debt. It will ask you simple questions about your case. Based on your answers, it will prepare a response and instruct you on how to file it. 

St. George VA Clinic

  • St. George CBOC, 230 North 1680 East, Building N, St. George, Utah 84790
  • Brad Evans, VJO Specialist, bradley.evans.va.gov
  • Types of Cases: Civil and Criminal
  • Walk-ins accepted 1st Wednesday of the month from 5:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
  • 435-634-7608 

Street Law Legal Clinic

  • Horizonte School, in the cafeteria, 1234 South Main Street, Salt Lake City
  • Sponsored by the S.J. Quinney College of Law at University of Utah, this clinic is held the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th Tuesday nights of each month (except holidays) from 5:00pm–6:30pm. No appointment is necessary. The clinic deals with consumer issues, employment law, housing issues, discrimination, etc. Legal volunteers at the clinic provide advice; however they do not provide legal representation. (The volunteer attorneys will not file anything with the court for you or appear in court on your behalf.) Interviews last anywhere from 30–60 minutes, depending on the issue. The clinic targets low-income individuals, but there is no income requirement.

Timpanogos Legal Center (TLC)

  • Utah County Health and Justice Building, 151 S. University Ave., Room 1600, Provo
  • 801-649-8895
  • The TLC is a free walk-in clinic that is a part of the Utah County Family Justice Center (FJC) and is comprised of volunteer attorneys and law students. The center provides services for divorce, custody, or family law related issues; immigration; housing; and elder law. Clients are helped on a first-come-first-served basis. The center prefers that new clients come in person to the center, as opposed to contacting the center by phone. The center is open every Tuesday night from 5:00pm–8:00pm, except the week between Christmas and New Year's Day. To be eligible to utilize the center's services, your income must be below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines. (The guidelines are available at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines.)

Timpanogos Legal Center (TLC) Document Clinic

  • Utah County Health and Justice Building, 151 S. University Ave., Room 1600, Provo
  • 801-649-8895
  • timplegal@gmail.com
  • The TLC document clinic provides assistance (by appointment only) for drafting documents for qualifying self-represented clients. You may either fill out intake forms online or receive help filling them out on Tuesdays from 5:00pm–8:00pm at the Utah County Health and Justice Building.
  • The requirements for receiving assistance are: 
    • the legal issue must relate to family law, renter's law, or elder law;
    • you must be representing yourself;
    • you must meet the income requirements; and
    • you must be either a U.S. citizen or a legal resident.
  • After the intake forms are sent to the TLC, a response is sent within three days informing you as to whether or not you have been approved to receive assistance. Approved clients will have a virtual meeting set up with an attorney who can assist in drafting court documents.

Tuesday Night Bar (Brigham City)

  • New Hope Crisis Center, 435 E. 700 S., Brigham City
  • 435-723-5600
  • This event is held on the second Tuesday of every month from 6:30pm to 8:00pm at the Park City Library. It is first-come, first served. Call to check for scheduling changes. Spanish-speakers are available.

Tuesday Night Bar (Park City)

  • Young Lawyers Division of the Utah State Bar, Park City Library, 1255 Park Ave., Park City
  • 435-615-5600 (phone number for the Park City Library)
  • This event is held on the first Tuesday of every month from 6:00pm to 8:00pm at the Park City Library. It is first-come, first-serve, and therefore it is advised that any participants arrive before 6:00pm in order to be put on the waiting list to meet with an attorney. 

Tuesday Night Bar (Salt Lake City)

  • Young Lawyers Division of the Utah State Bar, 645 S. 200 E., Salt Lake City
  • 801-297-7037
  • This program occurs Tuesday nights from 5:30pm–7:00pm, except holidays. Appointments are required and may only be scheduled after 1:00pm eight days before the Tuesday you wish to attend. (For example, if you wanted to attend on Tuesday, November 15, 2016, then you would call after 1:00pm on Monday, November 7, 2016.) The appointments fill up extremely quickly, so call the number as close to 1:00pm as you can. The appointments are for 30-minute sessions where you can ask volunteer attorneys legal questions. However, the attorneys will not represent you in court proceedings. 

Utah County Family Justice Center (FJC)

  • Utah County Health and Justice Building, 151 S. University Ave., Room 1600, Provo
  • 801-851-8508
  • The FJC is a free walk-in clinic comprised of volunteer attorneys and law students. The clinic is open every Tuesday night from 5:00pm–8:00pm. No appointment is needed. Bring any relevant court documents with you, and be prepared for a wait. The FJC primarily handles family law issues, but it also works with elder law topics and answers basic questions regarding low-income housing. Immigration help is also available during the first Tuesday of every month. The Family Justice Center offers services from the Department of Workforce Services, Community Action Services and Food Bank, Provo City Housing Authority, Victim Advocates, Utah Legal Services, Division of Child and Family Services, and Centro Hispano. (Other useful resources can be found on the FJC's website.) To be eligible, your income must be below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines, which are available at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines.

Utah Court's Online Court Assistance Program (OCAP)

  • The Utah Online Court Assistance Program (OCAP) is the official State of Utah website for assistance in preparing court documents if you are not able to have an attorney draft them for you. You may use this program for free. If you file OCAP documents on a case requiring a filing fee, a $20.00 document preparation fee will be added to the court filing fees. This program is a service of the Utah Courts and State Legislature. The types of cases available using OCAP are: domestic cases, enforcing domestic orders, guardian and conservatorship, garnishment, protective/stalking orders, landlords and tenants, and small claims. 

Utah Dispute Resolution

  • Law and Justice Center, 645 S. 200 E., Salt Lake City
  • 801-532-4841
  • This program provides mediation services for free or at a low cost. It does not provide legal services. Types of disputes for which mediation services may be available include the following: neighbor relationships, landlord-tenant, school relationships, business, workplace, consumer and merchant, and family and interpersonal. Types of services offered by this program: mediation, phone mediation, bilingual services (Spanish), facilitation, and training.

Utah Domestic Violence Coalition

  • 1-800-897-5465 (phone number for the Utah Domestic Violence LINKLine)
  • The website lists phone numbers, websites, and resources for getting help.

Utah Estate Planning and Probate Laws

  • These websites, created and maintained by the Utah State Courts, list some Utah laws about small estate planning and probate.

Utah Landlord-Tenant Laws

  • This website, created and maintained by the Utah State Courts, lists some Utah laws involving landlords and tenants, including the following: eviction (including a flowchart of the eviction process), abandoned premises, deposit refunds, and tenants' personal property.

Utah Legal Guide for Those 55 Years Old and Older

  • This website has information relating to persons age 55 years old or older. You can download the full eBook for free called Navigating Your Rights: The Utah Legal Guide for Those 55 and Over. Some examples of the information contained in the eBook include the following: protecting yourself from scams and sales, knowing your consumer rights, preventing and protecting yourself from abuse, caring for grandchildren, learning about benefits, obtaining medical insurance, finding housing options, organizing your assets (estate planning), keeping the power (end-of-life planning), making arrangements (death of a loved one), and getting legal help. 

Utah Legal Services (ULS)

  • 455 N. University Avenue, Suite 10, Provo and 205 N. 400 W., Salt Lake City (There are offices in St. George and Ogden too. Check the website for locations and phone numbers for those offices.)
  • 801-374-6766 (Provo), 801-328-8891 (within Salt Lake County), and Toll Free 1-800-622-4245 (outside Salt Lake County)
  • ULS provides free legal help in non-criminal cases to low-income people in Utah. Low income means individuals and families (1) that are within 200% (This percentage is subject to change.) of the federal poverty guideline (which is available at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines) and (2) who have very limited assets. ULS works with the following types of issues and groups: family law, victims of domestic violence, housing and landlord-tenant disputes, public benefits issues (for example, SSI and SDSI benefits, food stamps, unemployment, Medicaid, and other financial assistance), consumer and expungement assistance, senior citizens, Native Americans, and farm workers. Open hours: 8:00am–5:00pm. New clients may speed up the process by filling out the online intake form. (at https://ulsoi.legalserver.org/modules/matter/extern_intake.php?pid=4&h=638cee). ULS can only take a limited number of the cases they receive. ULS will take cases if 1) the cases qualify as the types of issues for which ULS offers services (in other words, protective order, stalking injunction, etc.) OR the clients meet low-income requirements, and 2) the cases meet the level of higher domestic violence. If a person does not qualify for ULS, he/she should consider the Utah County Family Justice Center.

Utah Marriage and Divorce Laws

  • This PDF is maintained and updated yearly by BYU Law librarians. It contains a summary of current Utah domestic relations law. Current legal forms and sample filing documents are included in the Appendix. It was last updated in Winter 2019.

Utah Renter's Handbook

  • This hyperlink is to a PDF containing information about Utah housing, as well as landlord-tenant legal issues.

Utah Self-Help Center (SHC) (Lawyer of the Day)

  • 888-683-0009 (Note: The phone line is very busy.)
  • selfhelp@utcourts.gov
  • Text: 801-SHC-1TXT
  • The SHC provides free legal help to people who do not have a lawyer by providing information to help you understand your rights and responsibilities and to help you resolve your legal problems on your own if you cannot afford an attorney. The SHC cannot give you legal advice or represent you in court. The SHC attorney is not your lawyer. The SHC staff attorneys can: provide court forms and instructions and help you complete the forms; provide information about your case; provide information about mediation services, legal advice, and representation through pro bono and low cost legal services, legal aid programs, and lawyer referral services; and provide information about resources provided by law libraries. If you have legal questions, the SHC can transfer you to an on-call lawyer, a "lawyer of the day," who will provide a free 15–20-minute consultation and answer any legal questions you may have within that lawyer's expertise. Open Hours: Monday through Thursday from 11:00am–5:00pm. You can contact the SHC by phone (Note: The phone line is very busy.), email, or text.

Utah State Bar

  • This website is the main website for the Utah State Bar, which is the organization that governs the attorneys in Utah. There is a "Public Services" section on the main page that may have resources or answers to your questions.

Utah State Bar Modest Means Referral Program

  • 801-297-7049 (Generally, someone is available from 8:00am–5:00pm to answer any questions over the phone about how the program works.)
  • This program helps people in Utah with modest earnings find a lawyer offering discounted rates to match their incomes. To qualify, your income must be between 125%–300% of the federal poverty line (which is listed at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines). Persons who qualify will be referred to a lawyer who charges up to $75 an hour or a corresponding flat fee. Hourly or flat-fee services often require advance payment (a retainer). Areas of legal help are limited to the following issues: adoption and guardianship (including minors and protected persons who are adults), appeals, bankruptcy, consumer law, criminal law, criminal law (in juvenile court), expungements, family law (divorce, protective order, etc.), foreclosures, landlord-tenant, mechanics lien, real property, small claims, traffic violations, wills, trusts, estates, or probate. To see if you qualify, go to the website and complete the interactive intake application. Once you have completed the web form, the website will immediately notify you as to whether or not you qualify for the program. If you qualify, you will be directed to a webpage that prompts you to provide credit card information. This information is needed in order to provide a $25 non-refundable deposit to cover the first 30 minutes of your case consultation with an attorney. After you have submitted your information and paid your deposit, the Modest Means Program will email you two referrals to attorneys in your area who may be able to help with your case. If for some reason neither referral works out (for example, you do not like them, or they are unable to take your case for whatever reason), you can reply to the email from Modest Means Program, and they will send you additional referrals. 

Utah State Courts

  • This website is the main website for the Utah state courts. It also has a "Self Help" section that you can access from the home page that may give you resources or answers to questions that you may have.

Utah@EASE

  • U@E is a referral program. The veteran must be referred by either a VSO or a judge advocate. U@E does not provide legal advice or services. Instead, U@E finds volunteer attorneys who are willing to help qualified veterans and servicemembers with Utah legal matters regarding SCRA, USERRA, Landlord, Debt, Consumer Fraud, Predatory Lending, Immigration, Wills, and Power of Attorney. Therefore, criminal, family law, personal injury, and legal matters against a State or USA, among others, are not covered.
  • SEND AN EMAIL to lschmidt@agutah.gov in order to receive a Veteran Intake form and Veteran Acknowledgement form. Then the veteran must contact their VSO (or JA if still in uniform) who will ask the veteran to complete the Veteran Intake form, Veteran Acknowledgement form, and provide a digital copy of the DD214 before that VSO or JA contacts U@E.
  • Contact information of those who can refer:
    • American Legion 801-326-2471
    • DAV 801-326-2375
    • University Veteran Centers
    • Utah Veterans’ Affairs 801-326-2372
    • VA Vet Center SLC 801-266-1499
    • VA Vet Center Provo 801-377-1117
    • VA Vet Center Ogden 801-737-9737
    • VA Vet Center St George 435-673-4494
    • VFW 801-326-2385
  • Referrals, screening, and placement take time. U@E is not appropriate for “emergency” legal services. After the veteran is 1) referred, 2) the Vet Intake form, Veteran Acknowledgement form, and DD214 are submitted, and 3) the veteran is determined to be eligible, many weeks pass, typically, before a veteran is represented, if at all.

  • Once a veteran has been on the “Ready List” for 90 days without being accepted by a U@E Attorney, the veteran is removed from U@E and is advised to hire counsel. Some cases are never accepted because the legal issue is not practiced by any of the volunteer attorneys. Sometimes the legal issue will take more hours than the volunteer is willing to give.

  • If the veteran’s legal issue is an emergency, consider hiring counsel directly or by visiting www.licensedlawyer.org

  • Visit attorneygeneral.utah.gov/utah-at-ease/ for details.

VA Salt Lake City Healthcare System

  • George E. Wahlen Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center, 500 Foothill Drive, Salt Lake City, Utah 84148
  • Erica Thoen, LCSW Supervisor, Veterans Justice Outreach Program, erica.thoen@va.gov
  • Types of Cases: Civil and Criminal
  • The VA is unable to provide legal assistance, so they have partnered with volunteer attorneys who provide a free monthly legal clinic for Veterans. The clinic is held the second Thursday of each month (except December) from 5:30 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. in building 8 multi-purpose center on VA campus. This would give veterans an opportunity to speak to an attorney, free of charge, to get some direction on their legal matter. No appointment needed. 

Westminster Pro Bono Tax Clinic

  • Westminster College, 2001 S. State Street, Salt Lake City, North Building Atrium
  • 801-210-8291
  • The hours of this clinic are Monday through Thursday 4:30pm to 9:00pm and Saturdays 10:00am to 6:00pm. Walk-ins are accepted. This clinic helps prepare taxes (unlike the Low Income Taxpayer Clinic), but it does not represent people who have conflicts with the IRS (whereas the Low Income Taxpayer Clinic does). There is no income limit.

WomensLaw.org

  • This website provides legal information for victims by state, and the Utah page may have useful information. 

BRIGHAM YOUNG UNIVERSITY

© 2012-2017+. All rights reserved. | Provo, UT 84602 | 801-422-3593