The records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) on free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics support the study of American legal history and complement the modules in the Making of Modern Law series. Documents include newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, and legal case records. The papers are held at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library at Princeton University.
This database consists of a variety of collections as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. This collection focuses on American Indians in the first half of the 20th century and there are a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the 19th century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.
UK Law Reports & Case Law Search ICLR is a not-for-profit organisation that was established in 1865 as the authorised publisher of the official series of The Law Reports for the Superior and Appellate Courts of England and Wales. It also provides case reports for The Court of Justice of the European Union.
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 presents the investigations made during the massive immigration wave at the turn of the 20th century. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS’s regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
This database consists of the working case files of the NAACP’s general counsel and his Legal Department staff for the period from 1956 to 1972. The files document the NAACP’s aggressive campaign to bring about desegregation throughout the United States, particularly in the South.
In total, this module contains over 600 cases from 34 states and the District of Columbia. The cases in this module pertain to school desegregation, abuses of police procedure, employment discrimination, freedom of speech, privacy, freedom of association, and housing discrimination.
Supreme Court Insight, 1975-2016, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document by document basis. This collection covers content through the 2016/2017 term.
This database contains information about legal writing contests open to students. It is maintained by the editors of the New York Law School Law Review as a free resource to NYLS students and others.
The database is updated on a monthly basis. If a contest deadline has passed, but a new deadline hasn’t yet been announced, the passed deadline is retained in the database for your reference. A contest’s deadline usually occurs at about the same time each year. Be sure to visit a contest’s homepage to confirm the most recent and complete information, guidelines, and deadlines. To report errors or submit information about new contests, please email email@example.com.